JRMS PTA Minutes

General Session, June 9, 2022

Via ZOOM

In Attendance:

Executive Board: Darrell Bradford, Jackie Dyar, Maritza Jones, Janet Parry, Gosia Tedewas

Attendees: Carolyn Baker, Seana Bedard, Stephanie Dionne, Beatrix Erickson, Meredith Ferris, Heather Hopkins, Sarah O'Dell, Caroline Pheeney, Meredith Schuchard, Jen Simpson, Amy Whittle

- 1. Call to order at 7:01
- 2. Motion to approve minutes of May 5, 2022 meeting made by Darrell Bradford, seconded by Gosia Tedewas, all members approved
- 3. Principal's Update, Meghan Ward thanked everyone for the last year. Any questions pertaining to administrative matters should be directed to JRMS Staff.
- 4. Year End Update, Jackie Dyar
 - a. Staff Appreciation Luncheon completed 6-8-22
 - b. Birthday Board completed for Summer Months
 - c. Central Office Luncheon completed 6-7-22
 - d. Bus Driver Appreciation to be held on 6-15-22
 - e. Upcoming: 8th grade Luau and 8th grade breakfast
- 5. Budget Presentation, Gosia Tedawes, Treasurer
 - a. Year over Year comparison not realistic due to legacy COVID issues placed several program on hold
 - b. Review key items in the proposed budget for 2022-23
 - c. Question on timing of proposal on 2022-23 budget since new board has not met to give input; Darrell Bradford responded that the proposed budget is designed to maintain current programs and cover operating expenses; may be revised, if needed, after new board meets (subject to approval by the members)
 - d. Question on Project Cool funding
 - e. Motion to approve the 2022-23 Budget, as presented, by Darrell Bradford, seconded by Gosia Tedewas; All members approved
- 6. 2021-2022 Recap, Darrell Bradford provided an overview of membership, fundraising, programs/events, grants, and volunteerism during the preceding year.
- 7. Election of Officers for 2022-23

a. The following candidates were nominated for election to the Executive Board to serve from July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023:

Name	Title
Darrell Bradford	Co-President
Maritza Jones	Co-President
Jenn Simpson	Treasurer
Amy Slimak Whittle	Secretary
Meredith Schuchard	VP Fundraising
Seana Bedard	VP Fundraising
Beatrix Eriksen	VP Communications
Sarah O'Dell	VP Programs
Stephanie Dionne	VP Membership

- b. Representing the Nominating Committee, Jackie Dyar, reviewed the slate of candidates and asked if there were any nominations from the floor (there were none). Asked if there were any objections to the nominees (there were no objections). Asked if anyone wished to decline their nomination (none declined).
- c. Motion to approve the 2022-23 Board made by Jackie Dyar, seconded by Gosia Tedawes, all members approved, motion passed
- 8. Motion made by Darrell Bradford, seconded by Gosia Tedawes, as follows: The current John Read Middle School PTA President (Jackie Dyar) and/or the Treasurer (Gosia Tedawes) is hereby authorized and approved to make, execute, endorse and deliver in the name of and on behalf of the organization, any and all written instruments and documents necessary to effect the following change in signatories on the PTA bank account:
 - a. To remove Jackie Dyar and Gosia Tedawes as authorized signatories on the PTA bank account;
 - b. To add Darrell Bradford, Maritza Jones, and Jennifer Simpson as authorized signatories on the PTA bank account;
 - c. To make these changes effective as of the date all required documentation is submitted to and accepted by an authorized representative of Fairfield County Bank.
 - d. All members approved, motion passed
- 9. Looking Ahead Presentation, Darrell Bradford
- 10. Motion to adjourn meeting made by Darrell Bradford, seconded by Gosia Tedewas, all members approved. Meeting adjourned at 8:17 pm.